None of them Good

Her husband had been quiet the whole carriage ride and while Skye and Isabel chattered excitedly during their journey her husband had barely said a word.  It was as human as any emotion she had ever known like a great weight sat on his shoulders.

“Are you thinking about the people in the church?” she asked.

“No” he replied sounding troubled. Looking up from the window he reached out his hand touching hers.

She flinched. Drawing away from him, it hadn’t been a conscious action and the look on his face when it happened caused her to instantly regret it.  “I’m sorry” she apologised.

He nodded and turned back to the glass. “It’s alright. You think I killed them?”

“Did you?” she dared, turning to Isabel who by now had stopped her chatter with Skye and was paying close attention.

“I don’t know” he replied, “I don’t remember…. I don’t think so”

“Isabel tells me there was a demon?” she dared, “You kept it in your head”

“Yes” he agreed “I realise now it was vain and foolish, I let my vanity get the best of me. I thought I could control it. I was wrong and it broke free”

“It took control of you?” she guessed.

“No… I don’t think it wasn’t to risk me regaining control, it left me as soon as it was able.. went into the priest… there was so much confusion, the hunters where all so focused on me they didn’t know what hit them”

Suddenly she felt something nuzzle into her. Peering over she found Skye her arm’s wrapped around her waist the look on her face saying more than words ever could. This was not a conversation for now.

“Where are we going?” she asked instead, she’d noticed a while back that they were not going in the direction of home.

“Siren’s” Vincent replied, “This whole thing was a setup, so the kindred Valdermar’s sister was working for could get to Siren. It worked as well… I called Arabella … Isabel all the other kindred to help me deal with this. I Left her un-guarded …… ”  

“What would they want her for?”

“A great many things” Vincent decided “None of them good”

One response to “None of them Good

  1. So the demon infested the priest? Or is Vincent just saying that rather than admit/believe he killed all of those people? (However, I like the demon infesting the priest better. Poetic justice, that.)

    And Siren — oh, yikes! I hope nothing too terrible has happened to her!!

Leave a Reply

