Anya gets some advice

Anya managed to vomit for the third time into the closet stool, somewhere between stilted sobs. Everything was a mess… She didn’t know where to go or who to talk too. She couldn’t even tell anymore if the vomiting was pregnancy induced or the product of the fear and confusion that gripped her.

She had barely slept, she didn’t feel safe and even eating had seemed a somewhat laboured chore. Resting her head on the rim of the stool, she barely acknowledged the door to the closetroom open.

“Milady are you alright?” Eva asked softly as she entered the room.

“Yes” Anya managed to nod, she didn’t feel alright. She wasn’t even sure anything would ever be alright again.

“Are you sick?” the young girl asked as Anya felt the girl kneel down beside her, her firm but gentle hand rubbing her back.

“No” Anya replied, looking up. She knew what a fright she must look. Most un-noble she guessed.

 “Your just feeling upset?” Eva reasoned, “Come on let’s get you a bath and get you into bed where you can sleep”

“I can’t sleep” Anya reasoned, “I tried”

“When I was a little girl my mother used to make me warm milk and honey, it always used to send me right to sleep even when I had bad dreams. Would you like to make you some?”

“No” Anya shook her head. “I can’t my stomach…”

Eva smiled sympathetically, putting her hand to Anya’s forehead. “You don’t feel warm” the young girl reasoned. “I don’t think you have a fever”

“No I don’t” Anya agreed, unsure if she should tell the young woman that she suspected that the vomiting was more to do with the baby in her belly.

“Worry then?” Eva decided, putting her hand under Anya’s arm and hoisting her to her feet with surprising strength. “Off to bed with you, you need your rest… things will look brighter when you’ve slept”

“Why? Will my husband not be a kidnapped vampire in the morning?” she asked sarcastically.

“Oh Milady!” Eva exclaimed, guiding her out of the room and back towards the bed “I know things look rough right now but they will get better”      

Sighing Anya climbed inside she was tired, she couldn’t deny it and as Eva pulled the heavy curtain’s closed she found herself suddenly fearing the dark. “Leave them open” she begged.

“Oh Milady!” Eva exclaimed for a second time. “Whatever do you think’s going to happen? Do you think a hobgoblin will come from under the bed to steal your toes?”

“I don’t know” she whimpered, “Do hobgoblins exist as well?”

Eva chuckled, “I don’t know, I suppose they might but if they do Vincent’s never mentioned them”

“Please will you just leave the curtain open?”

“Well I don’t know how your ever supposed to sleep with all that light” the young girl reasoned. “But you’re the boss” she replied, leaving the final curtain untouched so it let in enough light to see by. “Now milady is there anything else I can get you? Some warm milk might help to settle your stomach you know?”

“I don’t think so” she replied. “I suspect it will get worse before it gets better”

“Whatever to you mean by that?”

“I mean…” she began her voice trailing off, unsure if she should even tell the young girl. “I mean I’m pregnant”

“Oh Milady! That’s wonderful” Eva grinned briefly before the realisation suddenly set in and the grin was replaced with a look of confusion.

“Marcus” she dared bravely.  

“Yes of course, Milady” Eva nodded, “Still its good news don’t you think?”

“I don’t know” she admitted. “I haven’t really decided yet”

“I think its good news” Eva smiled. “Baby’s should always be good new’s don’t you think?”

She shrugged, suddenly bursting into tears  “Everything’s such a mess”

Eva nodded seeming to understand “I .. think the baron would be pleased” she offered, “I know you still aren’t ‘right’ with him, but he cared for Marcus he’d be please part of him will live on”

Anya nodded, she still couldn’t decide which of the two creatures she was more angry with the dead one who pretended to be her husband, or the dead one that let him. “What am I to do?” she sobbed.

Eva paused, “Do you want my opinion Milady?”

She nodded again.

“I think the Baron would make a mighty fine pa for that baby. It might not be the most usual sort of marriage but it could still be a grand one”

“The baron’s a monster” she hissed, though the tears.

“The Baron… Vincent… he made mistakes, bad ones I don’t doubt” Eva began. “But he ain’t a monster. Everyone in the house is talkin, some here have been in his staff for a very long time. Some a very very long time” she chuckled. “None have seen him like he is with you. Nora says she think he’d ever loved anyone since his wife… but he loves you Milady surely that counts for something”

“He shared me…” she retorted, the words leaping angrily from her mouth.

“Sorta” Eva agreed “But to be fair to him, Marcus overstepped his bounds… he was supposed to have breakfast and dinner that’s all… not…. Well he wasn’t supposed to get you in your current condition” she explained.

“Are you trying to tell me this wasn’t some sort of master plan? Marcus said Vincent wanted to get me a normal life, children… I got the impression it was the plan all along”  

“No milady.. I think… maybe there was a time where Vincent considered letting Marcus be the one to develop the real relationship with you. He wanted life to be as normal as possible for you, an a normal part of marriage is children so I guess he musta considered it. However, as far as I’m aware he never told Marcus to bed you.  What I do know, is that Vincent had words with Marcus tellin him to back off when he realised he was getting too friendly but I guess it was too late Marcus bless him had already got himself in a state for you”

“I was never supposed to be shared?”

“No milady, I don’t believe so….He was mighty angry when he found out Marcus had bedded you”  

“He was?”

Eva nodded, “I’ve never seen him so distressed, which is why I reckon he musta never told him to do it”

One response to “Anya gets some advice

  1. I am definitely in favor of Anya getting more information, so this is a great conversation in my mind. :)

    I hope she starts to feel better soon … poor thing. Both physically and mentally. But I think they’re going to have to get Vincent back before she can start to recover.

    So what’s the little sociopath’s plan? ;)

Leave a Reply

