Gayle is hired

Gabriel steadied himself it had to be 14 years since he’d last seen her and yet there she stood. Taking a deep breath he walked towards her. Dressed in a what was probably her Sunday best, a simple gown of blue her golden hair tied up.

“Helena?!” he smiled approaching.

She turned to face him her eye’s instantly looking to the floor. “Lord Hamdun”

“You used to call me Gabriel” he smiled, hardly believing that after all these years she was here standing in his hallway. She looked older, tired. A woman who had had a hard life and yet she still seemed beautiful to him.

“That was a long time ago” she nodded, before cautiously daring to look back.

“What are you doing here?”

“Oh” she gasped as though only just remembering herself. “My daughter Gayle” she said indicating to the girl beside her “She’s here to interview for the position as your new wife’s ladies maid” she explained.

The young girl smiled and curtsied, her jet black hair a contrast to her mothers golden but around the eye’s she was her mother’s image and just looking at her took him back to a time he’d long forgotten.

“I was hoping I still curied some favour with the lords here about” Helena dared.

“And so you do” he agreed, “though i scarcely believe you have a daughter old enough to work”

“it’s been a long time” Helena nodded.

“So do you know how to tend a lady Gayle?” he asked.

“Yes Milord” the young girl nodded, “I’ve helped my ma tend Lady Baeumont sometimes”

Gabriel nodded understanding, he’d heard on the grape vine that Helena worked for the Baeumonts but it stood to reason the Valdermar would not be able to afford another lady for his wife. “Well your hired, on one condition”

“What’s that?” the young girl grinned.

“Your mother has dinner with me tonight” he smiled, turning his attention back to Helena.

“I… don’t now Gabriel” Helena protested.

“Please” he urged, “For old times”

“Why do you want dinner with my ma?” the young girl asked.

“Well you see when we were younger me and your mother used to be great friends” he explained. “So will you Helena please?”

“I shouldn’t” she explained. “I..”

“No excuses” he insisted, “Dinner we can discuss your daughters new job”

“Oh… well I suppose, alright” she nodded “though I don’t think I have anything to wear fit for your sort of company”

“You look beautiful as you are, as you always did” he smiled, “Now… I’ll get someone to show you and Gayle to her new quarters so she can take a look at them… I have interviews to complete”

One response to “Gayle is hired

  1. Oh dear. Dinner, huh? Well, that’s better than what I was afraid of — namely that Gabriel would try to put the moves on Gayle. Apparently there is some creepiness of which he is not capable.

    … Yet.

    I hope Helena brings her husband with her, though! Is he big and beefy? REALLY beefy??

Leave a comment