It Stops Now

“She’s Dead” Aldun Argued trying to pull Gabriel off Jaedyn’s limp form.  

“NO!!” Gabriel screamed back at him shaking free of his fathers grasp “ she can’t be” he sobbed gently shaking his wife “ Jaedyn, Jaedyn sweetheart come back to me”. He pleaded.

Resting her head on his lap, he gently stroked her damp hair.

 Laura and the rest of the servants gave each other nervous glances, not quite sure what they should do with themselves.

 Aldun grabbed Gabriel by the scuff of the neck dragging him way from Jaedyn, her head cracked loudly against that cold stone floor “For god’s sake boy, pull yourself together” he roared dragging Gabriel to his feet.  

A look of shock crossed Alduns face as Gabriel pushed back hard, with enough force the send Aldun reeling “ No!!” he screamed, “You….. get out of here, and will someone Please get the doctor”.

“It’s too late “ Aldun countered. Turning he glared at the staff “ Get of here” with a wave of his hand the servants scattered. 

Suddenly there was a coughing noise behind them, both men turned to see Jaedyn flutter her eyes and take a gasping breath. “SEE “ Gabriel snapped triumphantly pushing his father towards the door “ NOW will you get the doctor???” 

Aldun looked stunned as Gabriel rushed to his wife’s side, gently he picked you up and carried her to the bed, heading out of the room he called for someone to fetch Bellari.

A few hours later Bellari had ordered both men out of the room, and was seeing to Jaedyn’s wounds, luckily the young girl had not had much experience with making nooses and the knot she’d made had not been able to tighten as much as it should have around her neck.  

Both men paced up and down outside the room; finally Gabriel broke the silence “ Im taking her away from here”.  

“Pardon?” Aldun said looking confused.  

“As soon as she’s well enough to be moved, Im taking her away, away from this house” Gabriel replied “Something very wrong is going on here and Im going to find out what”  

“Where will you go?” Aldun protested. 

“Im not sure, I just want her no-where near this place, perhaps I could move her to one of the empty cottages on the estate”.  

“You can’t “ Aldun ordered “ You are the heir you need to stay here, take over from me”.  

“Maybe it will only be temporary” Gabriel reasoned “ I can return when I work out who’s hurting her and put a stop to it, you have to understand father I NEED to do this”.

“You can’t I forbid it” Aldun argued grabbing Gabriel be the collar of his tunic, he pushed him up against the wall.  

Gabriel forced him away “Get off me “ he demanded “ I am not a child, you do not control me and I am not asking for permission, I AM taking her way, AND I AM going to do everything in my power to find out what’s going on”.  

“If you leave here, know this… YOU leave with NOTHING” Aldun threatened narrowing his eye’s he stared “ if you leave I will disown you”.   

Gabriel shook his head “ FINE… if that’s what it takes, I can provide for her and I will make sure she stays safe” he replied “I should have stood up to you a long time ago, all of this comes down to the fact that I did as you told me, even if it hurt her ….” he said taking a deep breath.  

Squaring upto his father Gabriel looked him I the eye “Well it stops NOW… maybe she’ll forgive me and maybe she wont. but I will take care of her regardless. From now on Im putting her first and there isn’t a damn thing you can do to stop me”.

5 responses to “It Stops Now

  1. yay! at least gabriel is finally standing up to his father

  2. Yay Gabriel!! It’s about time. I am so glad she is alive, that would have been way too sad.
    Interesting to see how they will manage if he is actually disowned.

  3. Way to Gabriel!

    And thank god she’s still alive.

    I wonder, perhaps her father in law is responcible for all her injuries? And even the…

  4. If so this is the first time I think I’ve ever hoped for a miscarriage…for any of the women in Grimstead. Maybe the stress and strain of her attempted suicide…
    Oh such dark thoughts when we should be rejoicing that Jae gets a second chance at life {^_^}

  5. littletingoddess

    Phew! I am so glad she’s still alive. But she really is leading such a miserable life. Maybe it will be better now they are going away from Aldun.

Leave a comment